Awards and Honors

Children's Literature Links

Reviews and Resources
Multicultural and International
Author and Illustrator Sites
Youth Focused Sites
Literature On-Line
Special Interest Sites
Conferences and On-line Courses
Teaching Ideas
Awards and Honors
Research Collections

This page contains links to websites concerning awards and honors related to children's literature.

Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature (Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs)
Mildred Batchelder Award

An award given to a American publisher for children's books translated into English and published in the United States.

Best Books of 1997

Lists of notable books identified by a number of sources including the ALA, Booklist, Publisher's Weekly, and School Library Journal. It's wonderful to have all of the lists compiled in one place.
The Bookwire Index: Book Awards
Huge list of Book Awards including but not limited to children's books.
Caldecott Medal
Information about the award, annotations of the winners and the honor books, and copies of the covers (from 1938 to the present).
Children's Book Awards
A comprehensive guide to children's book awards from around the world.
The Children's Book Guild award for nonfiction
Data Base of Award Winning Children's Literature
Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis 1998
The Arbeitskreis für Jugendliteratur has awarded the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis since 1956. Divided into 4 categories: Bildrebuch, Kinderbuch, Jungendbuch, Sachbuch. Nicely designed site gives information about the nominies in each category, including an annotation, the cover, and short biographies of author and illustrator. Site in German.  
*Coretta Scott King Award
The Corretta Scott King Award is presented annually by the American Library Association's Social Responsibilities Round Table to authors and illustrators of African descent. The website includes an introduction by Virginia Hamilton, an informative awards guide, annotations of winners and honor books, and an image of each of the covers. Information on the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award for New Talent, presented annually to an author or illustrator with 3 books or less, is also available on this site.
Newbery Award
Information about the award, annotations of the winners and the honor books, and copies of the covers (from 1922 to the present).
*Notable Children's Trade Books in the Field of Social Studies
This annual annotated book list is created by the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC). Bibliographies for K-8 books published in 1997, 1998, and 1999 are available. The books are divided into subcategories such as "Global Connections", and "Time, Continuity, and Change". The listings are quite extensive.
Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
The Jo Osborne Award for Humor in Children's Literature
An annual award sponsored by Ohio State University's Children's Literature Conference and the Ohio Library Foundation. This national award recognizes the lasting contribution of an author or illustrator who has brought the art of humor to children's books. William Steig was the year 2000 recipient.
Michael L. Printz Award 
A new book award given by the American Library Association for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.
Nonfiction Awards
*Science trade books for children 
As part of Project Primary, a collaborative project designed to help intergrate student centered science activities at the primary level in Ohio schools, Dr. Amy McClure created a section of the site which explores how to use informational books with children when exploring science. The section of the website on science trade books for children includes Criteria for Selecting and Evaluating Non-Fiction Literature, Reading Aloud Nonfiction, Readers Theatre with K-2 Students, Mini-Lessons for Helping Children Learn from Nonfiction Texts, Semantic Mapping, Group Summarizing, and a wonderful listing of Exemplary Science Books for Grades K-3.
Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award
University of Southern Mississippi Medallion
An annual award for outstanding contributions in the field of children's literature.
Young Reader's Choice Award
An award given by the Pacific Northwest Library Association since 1948. The winners are chosen by children and young adults in Alberta, Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.

Other Children's Literature Awards